

Minutes of Annual General Meeting Monday, 1st November 2021 held in the Town Hall Sandbach at 09.30

PRESENT: COMMITTEE MEMBERS: Stuart Naylor (Chair), Linda Bilsborrow, Paula Reilly-Cooper, Barrie Hacking, Alice Holmes, Richard Thorne, Sue Jones.

APOLOGIES: Alan Casey, Peter Bailey, Sandra Bessant, Sharon Ginnis, Jenny Haines, Tricia Naylor Budd

1. INTRODUCTION

The Chair welcomed committee members and observers. He explained how the voting had been organised:-

Members were invited to vote electronically or by post in advance.

Members were invited to vote today using a voting form.

He said that as today is the last day to renew membership, it was important to ensure that no lapsed members had voted and that nobody has voted more than once.

2. MINUTES OF 2020 AGM and RESULTS OF VOTING

These had been previously circulated and as there was no dissent, they were accepted as a true record.

The Chair said the final part of the AGM will happen on 15th November when the votes will have been checked and the Trustees can ratify the results.

He apologised for a mistake on the voting form. Richard Thorne, Treasurer, was co-opted last year rather than elected. His term therefore ends on 15 November 2021, and as he is willing to continue in post he will be co-opted for another year onto the committee.

3. CHAIR'S REPORT

Previously circulated. There were no comments or questions about it.

4. ACCOUNTS AND TREASURER'S REPORT 2020 - 22

The report had been previously circulated and as there was no dissent or questions, the report was accepted.

5. APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT EXAMINER OF ACCOUNTS FOR 2021-22

David Twidale is happy to continue working with Richard. All agreed and this was accepted.

6. APPROVAL OF SANDBACH AND DISTRICT u3a CODE OF PRACTICE

The code of practice has been previously circulated and as there was no dissent or questions, the Code of Practice was accepted.

7. ELECTION OF NEW COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR 2021-22

Voting papers had been circulated by email and post and there were no objections to the proposed candidates.

8. ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR 2021-22

The Chair confirmed the continuation of current Committee officers. He also confirmed that Richard Thorne would be co-opted as treasurer for a further year, commencing on 15th November 2021.

9. QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS

There were no questions from members.

10. ANY OTHER BUSINESS

Don Rickards and Pam Thomas have recently resigned from the committee and the Chair thanked them for all their hard work on behalf of the u3a, along with existing committee members who continue to work on behalf of members and new volunteers who have stepped forward to join the committee.

The Chair said that it is unlikely that Covid will go away any time soon, we shall be living with it for the foreseeable future, and this will have consequences for future AGMs.

He confirmed that the code of practice when presented to the AGM will be binding on all members, including the committee. He also said that it will provide a framework which gives us permission to have voting in advance and that electronic voting had proved very efficient.

He said the Code of Practice gives us democratic accountability to our members.

The Chair thanked members for attending and also Linda Bilsborrow, the vice chair, for organising the AGM.

Jinty Pyke thanked the committee for their work during a difficult year.

The meeting closed at 9.50 am.